couponing in the holy land

Frugal food shopping for the Anglo Israeli

What’s in my freezer? TNT Banana Bread with chocolate chips

One of the most surprising things I learned in Israel was how much Israeli hate cooked banana!  I actually made this recipe for someone who promptly spit it out when he found out it was made with banana.  What that means for the rest of us is that we can buy overripe bananas cheap and make great desserts with them.  It is best to freeze and defrost the bananas before you use them- they will the most soft.  I usually collect them in the freezer and when I have a batch I make as many cakes as possible.

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

pinch of salt

2 large eggs

1/2 cup canola oil

1 cup sugar

2 large defrosted bananas (flexible)

1/2 bag chocolate chips (I prefer Carmit brand)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 170C.  Mix the dry ingredients together and the wet ingredients together in separate bowls, except for the chips).

Then mix the wet and dry in together with a fork until combined.  Add chocolate chips.

Pour into 2 English cake pans (loaf pan) and bake for 50-55 minutes, until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

I usually double the recipe (or more), which will fit into three long English cake disposable pans.  Don’t fill more than half full.  Depending on how big your oven is (mine is tiny), for each double batch mix the ingredients separately.

Source: adapted from www.foodandwine.com

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “What’s in my freezer? TNT Banana Bread with chocolate chips

  1. Sue Shenhav on said:

    I wrote to you awhile ago about freezing meals in regards to having surgery. In the meantime you sent me private email to discuss with you my group in Rehovot. I have since lost this email and would like you to resend it to me.

Leave a Reply

