couponing in the holy land

Frugal food shopping for the Anglo Israeli

TNT Freezer Recipes- Ultimate Chocolate Cake

As promised in a previous post, here is the first of my TNT (Tried and True) Freezer recipes.  I am happy to post yours as well!
Ultimate Chocolate Cake
Source: Kosher Palette
Ingredients
2 cups sugar
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup cocoa
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup soy milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup boiling water
Preparation
1. Preheat oven to 170C. Grease and flour the pan of your choice: one 13- x 9-inch pan, two 8-inch round or square pans, or a Bundt pan (or cupcakes).2. Combine sugar, flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a large mixing bowl, stirring until well blended.3. Add milk, oil, vanilla, and eggs; beat at medium speed with an electric mixer for 2 minutes, occasionally scraping down the sides of the bowl.

4. Fold in boiling water with a spoon or rubber spatula. Pour into prepared pan(s).

5. Bake for 25 to 50 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. (The more shallow the baking pan, the less time it will take to bake.)

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “TNT Freezer Recipes- Ultimate Chocolate Cake

  1. sue shenhav on said:

    hi there, this is great I am going into the hospital for surgery next month and am trying to figure out some meals to cook ahead and freeze. Any ideas besides casseroles?

    • There are lots of foods that can be frozen- give me an idea of what you like and I will post some recipes.
      Pasta dishes freeze well but don’t cook it beforehand- assemble the lasagna or baked ziti and then freeze it. Defrost it 24 hours beforehand and bake as usual.
      Rice dishes do not freeze well, as well as hard boiled eggs and mayonnaise dishes.
      Browned ground beef and raw chicken in a marinade can also be prepared in advance to decrease your cooking time without worrying about freezer burn.

      If you didn’t see my previous post about freezer cooking, check it out here.

      • sue shenhav on said:

        good idea on the pasta dishes, last time I went through this I cooked ahead and froze, I will use smaller pans ( just hubby , myself and a kitty)can I cook and freeze schnitzel? if not I can chicken use the griller ( hubby is a very nervous cook–I need to make it simple) I was thinking stir fry , curry and possibly chili. I need to consider the chagim, like soup for YM, and stuffed veggies for sukkot ( I am having the surgery right after RH) I want to try and keep some traditions during the chaggim as I will be stuck at home..:-(

      • I have not had good luck with cooked shnitzel. I know people who bread it and freeze uncooked- you have to lay each piece out individually until frozen before bagging. I wouldn’t recommend using egg as a binder- try something like barbecue sauce- it adds flavor and is less messy. You can definitely do stuffed veggies- cooked would be better for most veggies.

  2. Pingback: What’s in the freezer? Lasagna with homemade ricotta cheese | couponing in the holy land

Leave a Reply

